Connect with us


Innoson, Jet Systems, OMAA, GAC, Autochek, Geely upbeat as NAJA Awards holds Wednesday

Expectations are high as good number of established auto brands, auto firms and outstanding personalities in Nigeria’s auto sectoŕ will be attending this year’s auto awards organised by the Nigeria Auto Journalists Association (NAJA).

The event will hold this week Wednesday, December 1, at the prestigious Eko Hotel & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos. Eventual winners in each of the categories are expected to be declared on that date.

With Micheal Ade.Ojo, chairman/founder of Elizade group and brain behind of Toyota Nigeria Limited expected to be honoured as the ‘Pillar Of Nigeria’ Auto industry’ because of his contributions in the country’s automotive industry in the past 50 years, special guests of the day and award recipients are Jelani Aliyu, director-general of the National Automotive Design & Devt. Council (NADDC), and Boboye Oyeyemi, Corps Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC).

New entrants for this year’s all-important awards are Jet Systems listed in the electric bus promoter of the year category; OMAA was also listed in the Gas-powered vehicle promoter of the year category. among others.

Both buses are suitable for commercial operations as well as other applications. The two brands are coming at a time when Nigeria is focusing and encouraging the shift from fossil fuel to electric and gas respectively to prospective vehicle buyers.

Geely Coolray, marketed by Mikano International Limited is also in contention. The Suzuki brand, which is being marketed by CFAO, is listed on the strongest comeback brand category, while PAN has been nominated for the most resilient auto company of the year.

Nigeria’s indigenous automaker, Innoson Vehicle Manufacturing Co is captured in auto manufacturer of the year (local content) because of its immense contribution in the development of the local auto industry and other ancillary allied automotive component makers.

According to the organisers of the event headed by chairman of the award committee; Theodore Opara, Car-of-The-Year (COTY) will be contested by Toyota Corolla, Hyundai Creta and Kia Rio. In his own remark, the chairman of the Nigeria’s Auto Journalists Association, Mike Ochonma said all vehicles nominated in the various categories represent exceptional value and designs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply