Connect with us

Car News

Evoque voted Best SUV/Crossover at 2019 WWCOTY Awards

The new Range Rover Evoque described by many as the original luxury city sport utility vehicle (SUV) has been voted Best SUV/Crossover by the Women’s World Car of the Year (WWCOTY) panel for 2019.

During the voting, a total of 21 cars were nominated by 41 judges from 32 countries and shortlisted in seven categories. The award for the Evoque was presented by Shereen Shabnam of the WWCOTY jury panel at the Dubai International Motor Show.

The Evoque pioneered the luxury compact SUV market. Now, with 224 international awards to its name, the new Evoque has built on its original instantly recognisable design to combine unrivalled Range Rover heritage with cutting-edge technology. Designed, engineered and manufactured in Britain, it meets the needs of today’s customers and is available in 127 countries.

Land Rover chief creative officer, Gerry McGovern said, a professor said, “It is an honour for the Evoque to be recognised by the WWCOTY jury. With its compact proportions, this characterful vehicle combines refinement and fun to create that all important emotional connection that customers love’’.

Built on Land Rover’s new premium transverse architecture, the new Evoque features a range of innovative and efficient engines and natural and recycled materials.

In April, the Evoque became the first luxury compact SUV to be certified under stringent new NOx emissions targets, real driving emissions stage 2 (RDE2), ahead of the official legislative introduction for new models in January 2020.

New Evoque has also been awarded a maximum five-star Euro NCAP safety rating, confirming its status as one of the most refined, capable and safe luxury compact SUVs on the market.

In recent years, Jaguar Land Rover has featured prominently at the Women’s World Car of the Year Awards, with F-PACE winning the Supreme Award in 2016, Fiona Pargeter winning the ‘Woman of Worth’ Award in 2018 and both the E-PACE and the I-PACE in the top three shortlist for the Supreme Award last year.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply